Elasticity : The Best of Elastic Press

Elasticity : The Best of Elastic Press


Elastic Press began publishing collections and anthologies in 2002 and closed down in 2009. By the time their 2008 collection The Turing Test by Chris Beckett won the prestigious Edge Hill Prize for Literature (beating Booker Prize and Whitbread shortlisted authors to do so), Elastic had already won two British Fantasy Awards for Best Small Press, while their titles had picked up three further British Fantasy Awards and one East Anglian Book Award.

Established with the aim of publishing mixed genre short story collections by relatively unknown writers, the Press gave early opportunities to the likes of Chris Beckett, Neil Williamson, Gary Couzens, Gareth L. Powell, Allen Ashley, and Steven Savile, while their anthologies were soon attracting submissions from authors such as Justina Robson and Nina Allan.

In 2009 Elastic Press announced they were closing down. In 2017, fifteen years after Elastic's first title appeared, NewCon Press are proud to present Elasticity: The Best of Elastic Press, featuring a selection of exceptional stories as chosen by the imprint's founder and proprietor Andrew Hook.


Introduction - Andrew Hook
Grief Inc - Andrew Humphrey
The Tower - Brian Howell
Evelyn Is Not Real - Mike O'Driscoll
Amber Rain - Neil Williamson
351073 - Jeff Gardiner
Four A.M. - Gary Couzens
When We Were Five - Marion Arnott
Shopping - Antony Mann
Somme-Nambula - Allen Ashley
Visits To The Flea Circus - Nick Jackson
Alsiso - Justina Robson
Jasmine - Andrew Tisbert
Televisionism - Maurice Suckling
The Marriage of Sky and Sea - Chris Beckett
fight Music - Tim Nickels

Download Elasticity : The Best of Elastic Press (9781910935569).pdf, available at johnaxavier.com for free.


Justina Robson, Allen Ashley, Maurice Suckling, Gary Couzens, Brian Howell, Jeff Gardiner, Marion Arnott, Mike O'Driscoll
Paperback | 276 pages
148 x 210 x 16mm | 368.32g
Publication date
11 Jul 2017
NewCon Press
Publication City/Country
Cambs, United Kingdom